How to turn off horizontal advection term just for phytoplankton

Report or discuss software problems and other woes

Moderators: arango, robertson

YunPengC

How to turn off horizontal advection term just for phytoplankton

#1 Unread post by YunPengC »

Hi dear,
I'm a beginner at ROMS modeling. I want to know how to turn off the horizontal advection term just for phytoplankton (NT=6).
I define fennel model and I find all the tracers in pre_step3d.F and step3d_t.F. I have already tested the model that I cannot simply skip the phytoplankton tracer because the result will show all the passive tracers only appearing on the boundary. Now I have two main confusions.
1. I am thinking about if I can define a value for t(i, j, k,3, itrc) before calculating in Time-step horizontal advection that can avoid calculating horizontal advection. But I don't how to find a suitable value.
2. Pre_step3d.F is like initial file and step3d_t.Fis is like calculation steps based on the time steps. Do I need to make changes both in these two files, because I just edit code in Pre_step3d.F in my test.
Could anyone tell me how to edit the code in ROMS? Which file should I edit? Anyone have better suggestions?

I have copied the modified location and my confusion for t(i,j,k,3,itrc). Please tell me if there is any other information that might be useful.

Thanks for any replies you have,

Yunpeng

Code: Select all

Time-step horizontal advection (m Tunits).
!
           IF (itrc.eq.6) THEN   ! NT=6 is phytoplankton
              CYCLE
           END IF                              
          IF (iic(ng).eq.ntfirst(ng)) THEN
            cff=0.5_r8*dt(ng)
            cff1=1.0_r8
            cff2=0.0_r8
          ELSE
            cff=(1.0_r8-Gamma)*dt(ng)
            cff1=0.5_r8+Gamma
            cff2=0.5_r8-Gamma
          END IF

! my confusion

DO j=Jstr,Jend
            DO i=Istr,Iend
             IF (itrc.eq.6) THEN
                  t(i,j,k,3,itrc)= ?
             else