Problems with ROMS installation related to Homebrew maybe

Discussion on computers, ROMS installation and compiling

Moderators: arango, robertson

moleculetang

Problems with ROMS installation related to Homebrew maybe

#1 Unread post by moleculetang »

Hi there, I'm a complete rookie in modeling and ROMS. Recently I have some spent a couple of days trying to handle the problems of installation and finally I failed to. Here's my final results.

tbbdeMBA:Upwelling moleculetang$ ./build_roms.sh
rm -f -r core *.ipo /Users/moleculetang/Documents/ROMS/Projects/Upwelling/Build_roms /Users/moleculetang/make_macros.mk
cp -f $(shell /usr/local/bin/nf-config --prefix)/include/netcdf.mod /Users/moleculetang/Documents/ROMS/Projects/Upwelling/Build_roms
/bin/sh: shell: command not found
cp: /include/netcdf.mod: No such file or directory
make: *** No rule to make target `/Users/moleculetang/Documents/ROMS/Projects/Upwelling/Build_roms/MakeDepend', needed by `all'. Stop.

I know they are all basic problems but some how I just can't figure them out.
For the first one, '/bin/sh: shell: command not found', I have not seen many posts on our forum which have similar problems as I do, thus I have no idea with the first one.
For the second one, 'cp: /include/netcdf.mod: No such file or directory', I actually have done a lot of works. In the beginning I add a declaration about nf-config in my PATH environment variables, which is in my build.sh, about 110 lines:
export MY_ROOT_DIR=/Users/moleculetang/Documents/ROMS
export MY_PROJECT_DIR=${MY_ROOT_DIR}/Projects/Upwelling
export NF_CONFIG_DIR=/usr/local/bin/nf-config

But it has no help. After that, I change the declaration in the my_build _paths.sh, like this:
export NETCDF=$I/usr/local/Cellar/netcdf/4.8.1/include
export NF_CONFIG=${NETCDF}/bin/nf-config
export NETCDF_INCDIR=${NETCDF}/include