Having trouble getting lagrangian float working...

Discussion of how to use ROMS on different regional and basin scale applications.

Moderators: arango, robertson

cjroach

Having trouble getting lagrangian float working...

#1 Unread post by cjroach »

Okay, firs time posting here. I'm a post-doc with MetOcean Solutions in NZ involved in the Kiwis' MOANA project which looks at biological connectivity of a number of key commercial marine species. I'm specifically working on how climate change is going to change ocean circulation which first involves using ROMS to downscale several medium (2030-2050ish) and long (2080-2100) term CMIP6 scenarios then conducting Lagrangian analysis using the resulting velocity fields. Problem is I've got lotsa experiance on the Lagrangian analysis side but this is my first time doing "serious" numerical modelling, so I'm rather learning on the fly.

As a prelude to running the future climate downscalings (current plan is mid-term and long-term downscaling for a high emissions pathway and a long-term downscaling for a medium emissions pathway) I'm running some test cases using the current MOANA "backbone" historical configuration. One of these involves releasing particles in ROMS to get a "full" temporal resolution "ground truth" before conducting the same releases in an offline Lagrangian tracking package (probably OpenDrift, maybe PARCELS) with coarser temporal resolution in order to scope out the acceptable output time interval that captures all the key dynamics while not producing too excessively big history files.