ERROR COMPILING FOR THE FIRST TIME

Discussion on computers, ROMS installation and compiling

Moderators: arango, robertson

Tilldrop

ERROR COMPILING FOR THE FIRST TIME

#1 Unread post by Tilldrop »

Hi, everybody.

I'm new in ROMS. I installed ROMS in my Windows computer using Cygwin, according to the Tutorial on the Wiki (Tutorial: Installing ROMS in Windows XP / Vista / 7 (via Cygwin)). Even though I'm using Windows 10 I succeed in the installation process. Now I'm trying to compile ROMS for the first time in order to run the Upwelling test case, but I've got the compiling error bellow:

Code: Select all

cd /home/USUARI/roms/Projects/Upwelling/Build_roms; /usr/bin/gfortran -c -frepack-arrays -O3 -ffast-math -ffree-form -ffree-line-length-none -ffree-form -ffree-line-length-none mod_strings.f90
mod_strings.f90:218:42:

218 |         character (len=80)  :: my_fort = "gfortran
Error: Unterminated character constant beginning at (1)
make: *** [ROMS/Modules/Module.mk:15: /home/USUARI/roms/Projects/Upwelling/Build_roms/mod_strings.o] Error 1
When I open the mod_strings.f90 file it seems to be missing the closing quotation mark for "gfortran", and I don't know why.

Any help?

Really thank you,

Màrius

jcwarner

Re: ERROR COMPILING FOR THE FIRST TIME

#2 Unread post by jcwarner »

in your build.bash, you set FORT=gfortran
then in the makefile, it reads that $FORT from the environment and makes it
-DMY_FORT='"$(FORT)"'
so now the var MY_FORT is "gfortran"
then in mod_strings
it compiles
character (len=80) :: my_fort = MY_FORT
to become
character (len=80) :: my_fort = "gfortran"
confused yet?

here is what my cygwin built gfortran has in mod_strongs.
Do you get the "" around the other strings???

character (len=80) :: my_os = "CYGWIN"
character (len=80) :: my_cpu = "x86_64"
character (len=80) :: my_fort = "gfortran"
character (len=80) :: my_fc = "/usr/bin/mpif90"