/bin/sh: 1: -c: not found
ROMS/Modules/Module.mk:15: recipe for target 'Build/mod_kinds.o' failed
make: *** [Build/mod_kinds.o] Error 127

please help me :cry: :cry: :cry:

robertson
Site Admin

Re: compile ROMS error

#2 Unread post by robertson »

From the flags it appears that you have enabled gfortran but my first guess is that either gfortran is not installed or is not in your path. Most modern Linux distributions have a separate package for the GNU fortran compiler; it no longer comes as part of the gcc package. I believe Ubuntu has many to choose from.

try:

which gfortran

if the full path to your gfortran executable is not returned then you need to install/get gfortran in your path.

Dave

ckers

#3 Unread post by ckers »

I'm new in ROMS. If I'm sure gfortran is installed, which file should I edit to point to the path. Thanks~

kate

#4 Unread post by kate »

From the command line, see what "which gfortran" or "which mpif90" give you. That's what the ROMS build system will execute to find the correct path. If it doesn't come up already, you need to change your user path to point there, perhaps in your ~/.bashrc file or similar. On a supercomputer, it might be something like "module load XXX" where on the system here, XXX is "toolchain/foss/2016b" (foss here stands for free and open source software). You might need to ask a local expert on your computer.

ckers

#5 Unread post by ckers »

This is what I've got. Please help me, tks~

ROMS/Bin/cpp_clean /home/njtsai/src/trunk/ROMS/Bin/Build_roms/mod_kinds.f90
cd /home/njtsai/src/trunk/ROMS/Bin/Build_roms; -c -frepack-arrays -O3 -ffast-math mod_kinds.f90
/bin/sh: 1: -c: not found
ROMS/Modules/Module.mk:15: recipe for target '/home/njtsai/src/trunk/ROMS/Bin/Build_roms/mod_kinds.o' failed
make: *** [/home/njtsai/src/trunk/ROMS/Bin/Build_roms/mod_kinds.o] Error 127

arango
Site Admin

#6 Unread post by arango »