Bug in large spherical nested run?

Report or discuss software problems and other woes

Moderators: arango, robertson

jpringle

Bug in large spherical nested run?

#1 Unread post by jpringle »

NEGLECT THIS MESSAGE -- THE PROBLEM WAS NOT WHERE I SUSPECTED IT WAS HERE. THERE IS SOME USEFUL INFORMATION BELOW ABOUT AREA CALCULATIONS WITH VARIOUS GRID PACKAGES, SO I AM NOT DELETING IT.

I have been debugging on and off for several weeks what appears to be a bug (or my stupidity) in nesting in a large domain spherical model run with nesting. I have a 1/7 degree idealized North Atlantic domain with a 1/21 degree western boundary region nested entirely within it. The northern, southern, and western boundaries of the refined grid are masked; only the eastern boundary of the refined grid is open to the ocean. The equation of state is linear, and set so rho=S-T. The depth is everywhere uniform at 4000 meters.

When I run the model with no forcing of any kind, and uniform density, the model blows up in less than a day when two way nesting is enabled (coarse step 123). When either grid is run alone, or with only one way coupling, the model is stable. These results are not sensitive to the magnitude of horizontal or vertical mixing, and dramatic reductions of time step do not reduce the model time needed for the model to go unstable (i.e. halving dt roughly doubles the number of timesteps needed for the model to go unstable). The instability is the same when the model is compiled with gfortran or ifort.

When the model is run with two nested grids with Cartesian coordinates and uniform grid spacing (with a factor of three refinement between coarse and fine), the model is stable.

I have checked all the grid metrics, and they appear to be correct. The coarse grid was made with John Warner’s mat2roms_mw.m, and the fine grid extracted with it by a stock version of coarse2fine.m. The error persists with model revision 782, downloaded Sept 8 2015.