Can't add the tidal forcing!

General scientific issues regarding ROMS

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
backkom
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 5:03 pm
Location: Ocean University of China

Can't add the tidal forcing!

#1 Unread post by backkom »

Hi,everyone!
i want to run a test 2D case only forced by tidal harmonics! the grid,bathy and tidal harmonics are given by external input files while others are described by analitical.but the model results are all zero which indicates the tidal forcing is not imposed,but why???
the header file is given as follows:
/* Basic physics options */
#define UV_ADV
#define UV_COR
#define UV_QDRAG
#define TS_FIXED

/* Basic numerics options */
#define UV_SADVECTION
#define CURVGRID
#define MASKING

/* Outputs */
#define AVERAGES
#define AVERAGES_QUADRATIC
#define AVERAGES_FLUXES
#define DIAGNOSTICS_UV
#define DIAGNOSTICS_TS
#define STATIONS

/* All forcing except tidal will be difined by analitical*/
#define ANA_SMFLUX /* All set to zero */
#define ANA_INITIAL /* All set to zero */
#define ANA_BSFLUX /* All set to zero */
#define ANA_BTFLUX /* All set to zero */
#define ANA_FSOBC /* All set to zero */
#define ANA_M2OBC /* All set to zero */



/*define boundary conditon */

# define SSH_TIDES
# define UV_TIDES
# define RAMP_TIDES
# define ADD_FSOBC
# define ADD_M2OBC

# define EAST_FSGRADIENT
# define EAST_M2GRADIENT

# define SOUTH_FSGRADIENT
# define SOUTH_M2GRADIENT

# define WEST_FSGRADIENT
# define WEST_M2GRADIENT

# define NORTH_FSGRADIENT
# define NORTH_M2GRADIENT


Thanks in advance

Yao
Last edited by backkom on Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kate
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: Can't add the tidal forcing!

#2 Unread post by kate »

Do you have a tides file? Is the model reading it during initialization? I get lines like:

Code: Select all

    GET_NGFLD   - tidal period
                   (Min =  4.30820446E+04 Max =  9.67260841E+04)
    GET_2DFLD   - tidal elevation amplitude
                   (Min = -9.99900000E+03 Max =  1.52504425E+01)
    GET_2DFLD   - tidal elevation phase angle
                   (Min = -1.74515472E+02 Max =  6.28274642E+00)
    GET_2DFLD   - tidal current inclination angle
                   (Min = -1.74515472E+02 Max =  3.14159265E+00)
and so on. So you can see the min and max are not zero, though that -9999 minimum amplitude is worrisome. If yours looks like that too, then I suggest a debugger.

backkom
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 5:03 pm
Location: Ocean University of China

Re: Can't add the tidal forcing!

#3 Unread post by backkom »

thanks kate for your kind reply!
when runs,the output is as followd:

INITIAL: Configuring and initializing forward nonlinear model ...


Minimum X-grid spacing, DXmin = 6.93178755E+00 km
Maximum X-grid spacing, DXmax = 8.64595367E+00 km
Minimum Y-grid spacing, DYmin = 6.94181911E+00 km
Maximum Y-grid spacing, DYmax = 8.64369654E+00 km

Minimum barotropic Courant Number = 3.74115727E-02
Maximum barotropic Courant Number = 1.31520820E+00
Maximum Coriolis Courant Number = 2.89353685E-03

GET_NGFLD - tidal period
(Min = 4.47141598E+04 Max = 4.47141598E+04)
GET_2DFLD - tidal elevation amplitude
(Min = 3.01320199E-04 Max = 1.76557302E+00)
GET_2DFLD - tidal elevation phase angle
(Min = 1.45915342E-04 Max = 6.28262751E+00)
GET_2DFLD - tidal current inclination angle
(Min = 6.05481596E-05 Max = 6.28317587E+00)
GET_2DFLD - tidal current phase angle
(Min = 1.75422949E-05 Max = 6.28316549E+00)
GET_2DFLD - maximum tidal current, ellipse major axis
(Min = 3.65175881E-04 Max = 1.44343474E+00)
GET_2DFLD - minimum tidal current, ellipse minor axis
(Min = -3.40958586E-01 Max = 3.59562539E-01)

Initial basin volumes: TotVolume = 6.04932098207068E+15 m3
MinVolume = 2.74901520081810E+08 m3
MaxVolume = 4.90707078019366E+11 m3
Max/Min = 1.78502860905728E+03

which should indicates that reading and initialization are ok,right?
but the output is still all zeros.
as you say, i should try debugger? but how?
thanks in advance !

User avatar
kate
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: Can't add the tidal forcing!

#4 Unread post by kate »

Do you have gdb? Last I checked, ddd didn't handle Fortran. Here, we have a totalview license so that is what I use. The more you learn about your available debuggers this time, the easier they will be to use next time. Then again, you can always try print statements. Search on TIDES to see how they ought to be coming in and examine various values there.

Post Reply