CHECKDEFS - cannot activate option: TS_MPDATA

Discussion about modeling ice with ROMS

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
kee
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:30 pm
Location: Nanjing Uni. of Info. Sci. & Tech. (nanjing institute of meterology)

CHECKDEFS - cannot activate option: TS_MPDATA

#1 Unread post by kee »

Hi,

I tried to run the LATTE case, and it's Ok during the compiling, but broke during running.
Some information is as the following:
_______________

CHECKDEFS - cannot activate option: TS_MPDATA
in serial with partitions or shared-memory...
Use distributed-memory (MPI) in parallel runs.

Elapsed CPU time (seconds):


ROMS/TOMS - Output NetCDF summary for Grid 01:

ROMS/TOMS - Configuration error ..... exit_flag: 5


ERROR: Illegal model configuration.
________________________________________

can anyone give some ideas?

zhao

ymamoutos
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: University of Aegean

Re: CHECKDEFS - cannot activate option: TS_MPDATA

#2 Unread post by ymamoutos »

Hi Kee,

try to compile your code by enabling the MPI
option on the build.bash/build.sh script, specifically
uncomment USE_MPI and USE_MPIF90 commands. Now if your
machine have, for example, the mpich2 library after your
compile is finished type this

Code: Select all

echo MPD_SECRETWORD=roms > ~/.mpd.conf
chmod 600 ~/.mpd.conf
mpd &
and finally to run the application

Code: Select all

mpirun -n k ./oceanM ./<ROMS-folder>/<your input file>.in
where k is the number of tiles you have.

Giannis

kee
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:30 pm
Location: Nanjing Uni. of Info. Sci. & Tech. (nanjing institute of meterology)

Re: CHECKDEFS - cannot activate option: TS_MPDATA

#3 Unread post by kee »

ymamoutos wrote:Hi Kee,

try to compile your code by enabling the MPI
option on the build.bash/build.sh script, specifically
uncomment USE_MPI and USE_MPIF90 commands. Now if your
machine have, for example, the mpich2 library after your
compile is finished type this

Code: Select all

echo MPD_SECRETWORD=roms > ~/.mpd.conf
chmod 600 ~/.mpd.conf
mpd &
and finally to run the application

Code: Select all

mpirun -n k ./oceanM ./<ROMS-folder>/<your input file>.in
where k is the number of tiles you have.

Giannis
Hi ymamoutos,

I did what you said, and ran the script with

Code: Select all

mpirun -np 16 ./oceanM ocean_lattec.in > run.log
but it came out other errors. I pasted the infomation within run.log below:

Code: Select all

Operating system : Linux
 CPU/hardware     : x86_64
 Compiler system  : gfortran
 Compiler command : /opt/mvapich2/bin/mpif90
 Compiler flags   : -frepack-arrays -O3 -ffast-math -ffree-form -ffree-line-length-none -ffree-form -ffree-line-length-none -ffree-form -ffre
e-line-length-none

 Input Script  : ocean_lattec.in

 SVN Root URL  : https://www.myroms.org/svn/src/trunk
 SVN Revision  : 

 Local Root    : /home/roms/trunk
 Header Dir    : /home/roms/projects/latte
 Header file   : latte_c.h
 Analytical Dir: /home/roms/trunk/ROMS/Functionals

 Resolution, Grid 01: 0144x0080x030,  [b]Parallel Nodes:   1,  Tiling: 004x004[/b]

 ROMS/TOMS: [b]Wrong choice of domain 01 partition or number of parallel threads.
            NtileI * NtileJ  must be equal to the number of parallel nodes.
            Change -np value to mpirun or
            change domain partition in input script.[/b]

 Elapsed CPU time (seconds):


 ROMS/TOMS - Output NetCDF summary for Grid 01:

 ROMS/TOMS - Partition error ......... exit_flag:   6


 ERROR: Illegal domain partition.
BTW, I compiled the build.bash with 16 nodes, and the NtileI * NtileJ was set 4*4 in ocean_lattec.in file.

what's wrong with it?
how can I mpirun successfully?

Thank you!

User avatar
kate
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: CHECKDEFS - cannot activate option: TS_MPDATA

#4 Unread post by kate »

mpirun -np 16 ./oceanM ocean_lattec.in > run.log
Resolution, Grid 01: 0144x0080x030, Parallel Nodes: 1, Tiling: 004x004
You told mpirun to use 16 processes, yet ROMS thinks it only has one. This is a problem with your MPI setup. Do you have a system manager to ask? I would try to get some kind of simple "hello world" MPI program running before working on ROMS. Perhaps MPI comes with some test codes you can try.

Post Reply